NV50 graphics counters are now almost fully documented

Hello everyone,

The second part of my GSoC project was to understand how NVidia graphics counters work on Tesla family.  According to my previous post, I used my own implementation of libpciaccess on Windows 7 in order to read the PCOUNTER configuration of these signals through NVPerfkit and GDebugger.

After some week of hard work, I have succeeded in documenting most of these signals. However, some of them (like vertex_shader_busy for example) are still currently not understandable for me but I’ll try to do this task as soon as possible.

The result of my researches is available on my Github.

The next part is to complete the documentation and, after, it could be interesting to provide an implementation like the NVPerfSDK for Linux.

Have a good day. ;)

3 thoughts on “NV50 graphics counters are now almost fully documented

    • Yeah, but we need to implement a kernel user interface in order to be able to manage these performance counters. And after, we could implement GL_AMD_performance_monitor on mesa for the nouveau driver.

Leave a Reply

